Founded in laughter, thriving in joy

“Living with cancer is not a choice, how you live with it is.” At Gilda’s Club Kentuckiana, we strive to be the support you and your loved ones need to get through a cancer diagnosis. We offer a supportive community and a variety of programming to assist you, your loved ones or any members of your circle who are struggling. We believe life is meant to be lived even when cancer is a part of it. For more information on how we can help and how you can help others, click here.

Our Mission

Our mission is not impossible

At Gilda’s Club Kentuckiana our mission is to ensure those impacted by cancer are empowered by knowledge, strengthened by action and sustained by community.

We are dedicated to creating a support system unlike any other.

History

Beloved Comedian, Immortalized Legend

Gilda’s Club Kentuckiana is named in memory of Saturday Night Live star Gilda Radner. When diagnosed with ovarian cancer in 1986, Gilda found support with Psychotherapist Joanna Bull who believed in a correlation between emotional and physical well-being. Understanding how important the experience was to her treatment, it was Gilda’s dream to develop communities where no one would ever have to face cancer alone.

Gilda died from her cancer in 1989. In 1995, her husband, actor Gene Wilder, and Bull, along with family and friends, founded the first Gilda’s Club in New York City.

Gilda’s legacy and whimsy live on through the many Gilda’s Clubs around the nation, where members join with others to give and receive the benefits of love and laughter.

You’ll see photos of Gilda throughout our website. Courtesy of Edie Baskins, Gene Spatz and NBC/NBCU Photo Bank.

 

Staff
Karen Morrison

President/CEO

karen@gck.org

502.371.3054


Chelsea Raff

Impact Officer

chelsea@gck.org

502.371.3056


Denise Taylor

Volunteer Resources Coordinator

denise@gck.org

502.371.3043


Janet Gruenberg

Chief Operating Officer

janet@gck.org

502.371.3035


Jessica Carner

Director of Volunteer Engagement

jessica@gck.org

502.371.3064


Jonathon Raley

Development Manager

jonathon@gck.org

502.371.3061


Karen King

Development Coordinator

karenk@gkc.org

502.371.3045


Karen Lovely

Development Coordinator

lovely@gck.org

502.371.3050



Leah V. Walton, LCSW

Program Director

leah@gck.org

502.371.3032


Mary B. Gatton, LCSW

Program Manager of Member Engagement

marygatton@gck.org

502.371.3033


Mary Caroline Gray, LCSW

Youth and Families Program Manager

marycaroline@gck.org

502.371.3038


Pam Kurzendoerfer

Operations Director

pam@gck.org

502.371.3053


Suzanne Goldring

Marketing & Communications Director

suzanne@gck.org

502.371.3057


Tonya Cook

Chief Development Officer

tonya@gck.org

502.371.3052


Tracie Nash

Executive Assistant

tracie@gck.org

502.371.3041


Board

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

FOUNDERS
Dale J. Boden*
Jennifer Lang Cottingham*
Earl Dorsey*
Susan Moremen*
Sharon Receveur☨
Lindy B. Street*

HONORARY BOARD

Madeline Abramson*
Wm. Tyler Beam*
Henry V. Heuser, Jr.
Lynne Meena Rapp
Judy Shapira

OFFICERS

Vicky Weber, Board Chair
Kathleen Pellegrino*, Vice Chair
Teresa Riggs*, Treasurer
Mary Barrazotto, Secretary

BOARD MEMBERS

James Darmstadt
Michelle Cason Gahm
Martha Hargis
Virginia Kelly Judd*
Sharon Kleinert*
Michele Oberst
Logan Ormerod
Deana Paradis
Bruce Paul
Lyndon Pryor
Audra Rankin
Mary Rivers
Lynn Sanders
Mollie G. Smith*
Jerry Steinberg
David Stemler
Kristen Trenaman
Sue Vogt
Gerina Whethers*

*Cancer Survivor
☨Deceased

ASSOCIATE BOARD

OFFICERS
Lori Mangum, Board Chair
Christian Bowles, Vice Chair
Jennifer Spear, Treasurer
Megan Cleveland, Secretary

BOARD MEMBERS

Christina Abney
Brisaela Arredondo
Catherine Banks
Anne Kash Barkeley
Allison Bell
Ashley Biggins
Bradley Bringardner
Shelley Bringardner
Chris Burns
Susannah Cregor
Jen Davis
Handlin Duley
Elly Faulkner
Jessica Kay
Jarad Key
Chris Madden
Priscilla Martin
Jordan Means
Juhee Mian
Grace Pace
Lisa Petry
Elizabeth Rivers
Will Sanders
Preston Schilling
Noah Snow
Caroline South
Ellen Wall