Founded in laughter, thriving in joy

Founded in 2005 by six Louisville cancer survivors, Gilda’s Club Louisville opened its red doors in 2007, becoming the first cancer support community of its kind in the area with the unique mission of uplifting and strengthening people impacted by cancer by providing support, fostering compassionate communities, and breaking down barriers to care.

“Living with cancer is not a choice, how you live with it is.” At Gilda’s Club, we strive to be the support you and your loved ones need to get through a cancer diagnosis. We offer a supportive community and a variety of programming to assist you, your loved ones or any members of your circle who are struggling. We believe life is meant to be lived even when cancer is a part of it.

Now Gilda’s Club Kentuckiana, with locations on Grinstead Drive and 17th and W. Broadway, GCK is the largest cancer support community in the world.

For more information on how we can help and how you can help others, click here.

Our Mission

Our mission is not impossible.

Gilda’s Club Kentuckiana and our Cancer Support Community partners uplift and strengthen people impacted by cancer by providing support, fostering compassionate communities, and breaking down barriers to care.

 

We are dedicated to creating a support system unlike any other.

History

Beloved Comedian, Immortalized Legend

Gilda’s Club Kentuckiana is named in memory of Saturday Night Live star Gilda Radner. When diagnosed with ovarian cancer in 1986, Gilda found support with Psychotherapist Joanna Bull who believed in a correlation between emotional and physical well-being. Understanding how important the experience was to her treatment, it was Gilda’s dream to develop communities where no one would ever have to face cancer alone.

Gilda died from her cancer in 1989. In 1995, her husband, actor Gene Wilder, and Bull, along with family and friends, founded the first Gilda’s Club in New York City.

Gilda’s legacy and whimsy live on through the many Gilda’s Clubs around the nation, where members join with others to give and receive the benefits of love and laughter.

You’ll see photos of Gilda throughout our website. Courtesy of Edie Baskins, Gene Spatz and NBC/NBCU Photo Bank.

 

Staff
Karen Morrison, CFRE

President/CEO

karen@gck.org

502.371.3054


Ashley Arnett

Marketing Manager

ashley@gck.org

502.371.3045


Chelsea Raff, MPA

Major Gifts Officer
chelsea@gck.org
502.371.3061


Christine Long

Philanthropy Manager

chris@gck.org

502.371.3039


Devon Wasser

Family Program Manager
devon@gck.org
502.371.3043


Diane Rihn

IT Director

diane@gck.org

502.371.3034


Ellie

Therapy Dog


Halen Gifford

Southern Indiana Program Manager

halen@gck.org

502.371.3050


Jennifer Webb

Director of Volunteer Engagement
jennifer@gck.org
502.371.3036


Jessi

Therapy Dog



Keisha Kay-Anthony LCSW

Clinical Program Director

keisha@gck.org

502.371.3042


Kennedy Scott, M.Ed, LPATA, ATR-P

Program Manager
502.371.3038
kennedy@gck.org


Kim Henderson

Executive Assistant
502.371.3035
kim@gck.org


Leah V. Walton, LCSW

Program and Impact Officer

leah@gck.org

502.371.3032


Lori Mangum

Chief Operating Officer

lori@gck.org

502.371.3055


Maria Martha Sanchez

Certified Healthcare Interpreter™- Spanish
Hispanic Program and Outreach Specialist
martha@gck.org
502.371.3064


Mona Schramko

Process and Data Manager
mona@gck.org
502.371.3056


Suzanne Goldring

Marketing & Communications Director

suzanne@gck.org

502.371.3057


Sylvia Rhodes, Minister, BSSW, CCHW

Director of Gilda’s West and Health Equity

sylvia@gck.org

502.371.3037


Tina Lee

Community Engagement Specialist

tina@gck.org

502.371.3046


Tonya Cook

Chief Philanthropy Officer

tonya@gck.org

502.371.3052


Tracie Nash

Operations Manager

tracie@gck.org

502.371.3041


Boards
BOARD OF DIRECTORS

FOUNDERS

Dale J. Boden*
Jennifer Lang Cottingham*
Earl Dorsey*
Susan Moremen*
Sharon Receveur☨+
Lindy B. Street*

 

HONORARY BOARD

Madeline Abramson*
Wm. Tyler Beam+
Henry V. Heuser, Jr.
Lynne Meena Rapp
Judy Shapira

 

OFFICERS

Annette Grisanti, Board Chair
James Darmstadt, Vice Chair
Christian Bowles, Treasurer
Kim Y. Springfield*, Secretary

 

BOARD MEMBERS

J. McFerran Barr, II*
Catherine Banks*
Bradley Bringardner
Stacy Cohen
Felisha Dowdy
David Dudding*
Sarah Friedman
Karen Hale*
Jarad Key
Sharon Kleinert*
Heidi Margulis*
Kelly Maxwell
Tim McGurk
Michele Oberst
Lyndon Pryor
Alan Rosenberg*
Lynn Sanders*
Mollie G. Smith*
Jerry Steinberg
Sara Stemler
Carl Thomas*
Derwin Webb
Jean West
Gerina Whethers*

*Cancer Survivor
+Deceased

ASSOCIATE BOARD

OFFICERS

Tarah Decker*, Chair
Chris Burns, Vice Chair
Grant Meyer, Treasurer
Katy Ferry, Secretary
Juhee Mian, Immediate Past Chair

 

BOARD MEMBERS

Sana Ahmend
Anna-Maria Beck*
Dana Blakemore
Priscilla Broome
Reagan Davidson
Alex Degg
Ashton Dowdy
Diana Duran
Kara Farris
Russell Goodwin
Lauren Hayes-Austin
Sara Kleinsmith
Grace Lawson
Dana Longstreet
Salma Meza
Mackey Middleton
Whitten Montgomery
Nisha Patel
Lisa Petry
Will Pfeffer
Hanna Pfeffer
Natalia Reyes-Harpring
Nicolas Rose
Annie Roth
Sarah Salerno
Tommy Staffieri
Brett Steele
Michael Sugar
Maria Tipton
Colleen Wade

 

*Cancer Survivor
☨Deceased

Professional Advisory Board

Elizabeth Archer-Nanda, DNP, PMHCNS-BS
Clinical Director, Advanced Practice Provider
Behavioral Oncology Program
Norton Cancer Institute

 

Karlynn BrintzenhofeSzoc, PhD, MSW, FAOSW
Professor in Oncology Social Work
UofL Kent School of Social Work

 

Renato La Rocca, MD, FACP
Cancer Medicine and Neurologic Oncology
Norton Cancer Institute, Kentucky Cancer Group

 

Sonia Malani, MD, FABNO
Oncologist
AIM Institute

 

John Montville, FACHE
Executive Director, Oncology Service Line
Mercy Health – Paducah

 

Spencer Moorman
Clinical Research Collaboration and Coordination
Norton Children’s Cancer Institute/Research Institute and
University of Louisville

 

Rachel O’Farrell, LCSW
Psychosocial Team Supervisor
DanceBlue Kentucky Children’s Hospital Hematology and Oncology
UK Health Markey Cancer Center

 

John D’Orazio, MD, PhD
Pediatric Oncologist
Chief of Pediatric Hematoloty and Oncology
Kentucky Children’s Hospital

 

Rebecca Redman, MD
Deputy Director, Clinical Research
UofL Health Brown Cancer Center

 

Elizabeth Riley, MD, FACP
Deputy Director, Health Affairs
UofL Health Brown Cancer Center

 

Emily Schneider, RN, MSN
Oncology Nurse Navigator
Brown Cancer Center

 

Kimberly Williams, LCSW, OSW-C
Oncology Social Worker
UofL Health Brown Cancer Center

Clubhouses

KENTUCKY

GILDA’S GRINSTEAD
2440 Grinstead Dr, Louisville, KY  40204

Click here for a virtual tour

 

GILDA’S WEST
1720 W Broadway, Suite 205, Louisville, KY  40203

Click here for a virtual tour

 

INDIANA

GILDA’S CLARK at Pleasant Run Farm
5318 King Rd, Jeffersonville, IN  47130

 

 

GILDA’S FLOYD at the Cardinal Ritter House
1218 E. Oak St, New Albany, IN  47150