Founded in laughter, thriving in joy

Founded in 2005 by six Louisville cancer survivors, Gilda’s Club Louisville opened its red doors 15 years ago, becoming the first cancer support community of its kind in the area with the unique mission of ensuring those affected by cancer are empowered by knowledge, strengthened by action and sustained by community.

“Living with cancer is not a choice, how you live with it is.” At Gilda’s Club, we strive to be the support you and your loved ones need to get through a cancer diagnosis. We offer a supportive community and a variety of programming to assist you, your loved ones or any members of your circle who are struggling. We believe life is meant to be lived even when cancer is a part of it.

Now Gilda’s Club Kentuckiana, with locations on Grinstead Drive and 17th and W. Broadway, GCK is the largest cancer support community in the world.

For more information on how we can help and how you can help others, click here.

Our Mission

Our mission is not impossible

At Gilda’s Club Kentuckiana our mission is to ensure those impacted by cancer are empowered by knowledge, strengthened by action and sustained by community.

We are dedicated to creating a support system unlike any other.

History

Beloved Comedian, Immortalized Legend

Gilda’s Club Kentuckiana is named in memory of Saturday Night Live star Gilda Radner. When diagnosed with ovarian cancer in 1986, Gilda found support with Psychotherapist Joanna Bull who believed in a correlation between emotional and physical well-being. Understanding how important the experience was to her treatment, it was Gilda’s dream to develop communities where no one would ever have to face cancer alone.

Gilda died from her cancer in 1989. In 1995, her husband, actor Gene Wilder, and Bull, along with family and friends, founded the first Gilda’s Club in New York City.

Gilda’s legacy and whimsy live on through the many Gilda’s Clubs around the nation, where members join with others to give and receive the benefits of love and laughter.

You’ll see photos of Gilda throughout our website. Courtesy of Edie Baskins, Gene Spatz and NBC/NBCU Photo Bank.

 

Staff
Karen Morrison

President/CEO

karen@gck.org

502.371.3054


Ashley Arnett

Marketing Specialist

ashley@gck.org

502.371.3045


Denise Taylor

Volunteer Resources Coordinator

denise@gck.org

502.371.3043


Diane Rihn

IT Director

diane@gck.org

502.371.3034


Dzifa Adjei

Family Program and Outreach Manager

dzifa@gck.org

502.371.3035


Ellie

Comfort Dog In-Training


Halen Gifford

Philanthropy Manager

halen@gck.org

502.371.3050


Jennifer Webb

Volunteer Engagement Manager
jennifer@gck.org
502.371.3036


Jonathon Raley

Director of Philanthropy

jonathon@gck.org

502.371.3061



Keisha Combs, CSW

Program Manager

keisha@gck.org

502.371.3042


Leah V. Walton, LCSW

Program Director

leah@gck.org

502.371.3032


Lori Mangum

Chief Operating Officer

lori@gck.org

502.371.3055


Mary B. Gatton, LCSW

Member Engagement Manager

mary@gck.org

502.371.3033


Mona Schramko

Data Management Specialist
mona@gck.org
502.371.3056


Paige Walker, LCSW

Senior Program Manager

paige@gck.org

502.371.3038


Pam Kurzendoerfer

Operations Director

pam@gck.org

502.371.3053


Suzanne Goldring

Marketing & Communications Director

suzanne@gck.org

502.371.3057


Tina Lee

Community Engagement Specialist

tina@gck.org

502.371.3046


Tonya Cook

Chief Philanthropy Officer

tonya@gck.org

502.371.3052


Tracie Nash

Executive Assistant

tracie@gck.org

502.371.3041


Yeimy Pastor

Volunteer Coordinator

yeimy@gck.org

502.371.3064


Board

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

FOUNDERS
Dale J. Boden*
Jennifer Lang Cottingham*
Earl Dorsey*
Susan Moremen*
Sharon Receveur☨
Lindy B. Street*

HONORARY BOARD

Madeline Abramson*
Wm. Tyler Beam☨
Henry V. Heuser, Jr.
Lynne Meena Rapp
Judy Shapira

OFFICERS
David Stemler, Chair
James Darmstadt, Vice Chair
J. McFerran Barr, II*, Treasurer
Jerry Steinberg, Secretary

BOARD MEMBERS
Christian Bowles
David Dudding
Felisha Dowdy
Sarah Friedman
Luis Fuentes
Michelle Gahm
Annette Grisanti
Karen Hale*
Sharon Kleinert*
Greg Novak
Michele Oberst
Deana Paradis
William F. Paynter
Lyndon Pryor
Audra Rankin
Alan Rosenberg*
Mollie G. Smith*
Kim Y. Springfield
Wendy Swisher
Carl Thomas*
Derwin Webb
Jean West

 

*Cancer Survivor
☨Deceased

ASSOCIATE BOARD

OFFICERS
Juhee Mian, Chair
Bradley Bringardner, Vice Chair
Jared Key, Treasurer
Chris Madden, Secretary
Catherine Banks*, Immediate Past Chair

 

BOARD MEMBERS

Tarah Decker*
Kara Farris
Katy Ferry
Russell Goodwin
Ariel Hawkins
Grace Lawson
Ali Martino
Grant Meyer
Salma Meza
Whitten Montgomery
Kinsey Morrison*
Grace Pace
Lisa Petry
Will Pfeffer
Hannah Pfeffer
Lesley Reynolds
Annie Roth
Preston Schilling
Maria Tipton
Megan Ueltschy Scheps
Ryan Underwood
Colleen Wade
Charles Walker
Melissa Wight

 

*Cancer Survivor

PROFESSIONAL ADVISORY BOARD

Elizabeth Archer-Nanda, DNP, PMHCNS-BS
Clinical Director, Advanced Practice Provider
Behavorial Oncology Program
Norton Cancer Institute

 

Karlynn BrintzenhofeSzoc, PhD, MSW, FAOSW
Professor in Oncology Social Work
UofL Kent School of Social Work

 

Kimberly Williams, LCSW, OSW-C
Oncology Social Worker
UofL Health Brown Cancer Center

 

Elizabeth Riley, MD, FACP
Deputy Director, Health Affairs
UofL Health Brown Cancer Center

 

Renato La Rocca, MD, FACP
Cancer Medicine and Neurologic Oncology
Norton Cancer Institute, Kentucky Cancer Group

 

Rebecca Redman, MD
Deputy Director, Clinical Research
UofL Health Brown Cancer Center

 

John Montville, FACHE
Executive Director, Oncology Service Line
Mercy Health – Paducah